Sign in to follow this  
jennabaloney

Favorite BK Memories

I think the first time I got to see Ben live was when he played a show at Club Congress in Tucson, AZ probably over 10 years ago. A friend of mine was a poor college student at the time who couldn't afford to go to the show, but was able to catch his surprise performance at Zia Records earlier that day. After Ben found out her situation, he put her on the guest list and we got to share an amazing night together. One of the most memorable shows of my life!

Ben also helped a couple get engaged on stage a few years later when he played here at the Rialto Theatre. It was super sweet.

All of this is just to say that it feels good to support a musician who, in addition to making so much incredible music, seems like a genuinely kind human being. Thanks for making life a little better, Ben!

• Like 1

My favorite BK memory was the first time I met him.

It was back in 2003.  I was a student at Lehigh University.  I was friends with the on-campus events coordinator at the school, and I was also friends with the manager of the local radio station.  I was able to convince the two of them to work together to bring Ben Kweller and Nada Surf to Lehigh.

They played a tiny concert on campus for like 250 people.  Before the concert, BK played a couple acoustic songs (Commerce, TX and The Biggest Flower) on our local radio station and did a radio interview.  It was fantastic.

BK and I played catch with a rubberband ball during the interview.  I still have the ball.  At the concert, I heard "Debbie Don't Worry Doll" for the first time.  He also did a song about stepping in bubblegum, which I have never hear since.

• Like 1

One time I saw Ben in Little Rock -- my first MONTH of college back in '07. Last time he was in the area I believe.